How To Delete Your Mega Account In 2024

  • By Unzila Siddique

    Unzila Siddique

    Author Image

    Hi, I'm a part time content writer and full time SEO dabbling in the world of cybersecurity, one step at a time.

    See author profile
  • 15 April 2024
  • 8 mins read

MEGA provides a good quantity of free cloud storage. However, it is recommended to completely remove your account if you're done with it. 

This guarantees that all of your data is removed from MEGA's servers. But if you permanently delete your account, all of your saved files and folders will vanish as well. 

So, before continuing, make sure to download any crucial data. You can follow the instructions in this guide to permanently remove your MEGA account. 

What is Mega?

MEGA CLOUD SERVICES LIMITED is an Auckland, New Zealand-based firm that provides file hosting services. Web-based applications are used to provide the service. There are also MEGA iOS and Android mobile apps available.

Currently, Mega has more than 290 million user accounts that are registered in more than 215 nations and territories. Over 150 billion unique files have been uploaded to Mega by its users worldwide.

Why Is It Important to Delete an Account from Mega?

You might want to remove your MEGA account for the following reasons:

Information Safety

  • When you delete your account, MEGA's servers are guaranteed to have erased all of your stored data. 
  • By doing this, the possibility of a data breach or future illegal access to your private information is reduced.

Security And Privacy

  • When you delete your account, you also remove any files or personal data that may have been connected to it. 
  • Your privacy may be better protected this way, particularly if you are keeping private information on MEGA.

Profile Management

  • Clearing your account will simplify your internet usage and clean your online accounts if you are no longer using MEGA. 
  • This might help in securing your online presence and reductions in the amount of accounts you have to maintain. 

How to Delete Your Account from Mega

  1. First of all, log in to your account by clicking on the log-in button on the top right corner of the screen.
  1. Once you are logged in, click on your profile icon on the top right corner of the screen.
  1. After that click on the “Settings” option from the drop-down menu box.
  1. Now you will be redirected to the settings page where you have to click on the “Delete account” option under the Account section on the left. 
  2. Once you click there you will see another button in the bottom right corner of the screen, click again on the “Delete account” option.
  1. Now you will see an interface where you have to click on the “Yes” button to confirm the deletion.
  1. Now you will receive an account deletion email, simply open up your email and click on the close my account button.
  1. Then you will be redirected to a new page where you have to select the reason for deleting your account and then click on the submit button.
  1. Now click on the OK button on the next page.

Congratulations! Your account has been deleted successfully.

What Happens When I Delete My Account from Mega?

When you permanently delete your MEGA account, the following happens:

Information Deletion

MEGA permanently deletes all of your saved documents and folders. When your account is terminated, there will be no way for you to get them back. And, MEGA warns customers that your account deletion is irreversible.

Accounts Closing

You are no longer able to access your MEGA user account since it has been deactivated. This means that you are no longer able to use any account-related features or functionalities, such as file sharing or cloud storage.

Info Removal

MEGA also deletes information from its computers any personally identifiable information (PII) connected to your account, such as your email address. This helps in maintaining your privacy when your account is deleted. 

Things to Consider Before Deleting a MEGA Account

Here are a few more points to remember:

  • MEGA won't erase your information right away. 
  • There is a 30-day grace period once you commence the deletion process. 
  • If you decide to change your mind during this time, you can get in touch with MEGA support to get your account back.
  • When the 30-day period expires, your data is deleted forever. 
  • It cannot be recovered for you by MEGA.
  • It's crucial to make a backup of any crucial information you may have saved. 
  • You will never again be able to access such files if your account is deleted.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • Do MEGA accounts get removed?

    Plus

    There is no expiration date on your free MEGA account or the data it holds, and it will remain operational unless you don't check in for three months. MEGA will then send you multiple email alerts.

  • How can my MEGA account be unparked?

    Plus

    You can email the support team to request to unpark the original account and its contents if you have parked your account and later find your password and/or Recovery key. If so, kindly send an email to the support team using the email address associated with your initial account.

  • Is it safe to use Mega?

    Plus

    MEGA is a secure cloud service that allows you to store and share any type of material. MEGA allows you to transmit sensitive information because the platform provides a high level of security for shared connections. Every file you upload to MEGA is encrypted using 128-bit AES technology.

  • Is my Mega account visible to anyone?

    Plus

    They use zero-knowledge encryption, also known as user-controlled end-to-end encryption, to secure your data online, including while sharing it. This means that the only people who can see, read, or hear that data on MEGA are you and the people you share information with.

  • Simplify your online presence today

    With PurePrivacy, make sure all your personal data remains safe without a hassle!

Protect Your Internet Activity by Deleting Your Account

You may protect your data and delete your account permanently by using our comprehensive guide. Always make a backup of any important documents before beginning the deleting process.

Consider using PurePrivacy to manage your online identity and protect your private data on many platforms for an additional degree of online protection.