How to Know if Someone Restricts You on Facebook

  • By Muhid Suleman

    Muhid Suleman

    Author Image

    Muhid Suleman, An expert writer from Pureprivacy's content team, Dedicate to make data privacy simple and accessible for you. Muhid, Our Content Wizard, weaves tales about online privacy using simple and user friendly procedures. He firmly believes that online privacy is your right and a big deal in the digital jungle.

    See author profile
  • 6 May 2024
  • 8 mins read

Ever scroll through Facebook and notice a friend's profile suddenly feels blank? 

They haven't unfriended you, but their posts and updates seem strangely absent. 

It could be that they've "restricted" you. Unlike being blocked, this limits what they share with you. 

Read on to understand how restricting works and how it differs from being completely blocked.

6 Tried and Tested Methods to Know if Someone Restricts You on Facebook

While Facebook will not notify you if someone restricts your profile, you can typically tell based on several factors, including a lack of friends-only posts. So, let’s find out how you can get to know that someone has restricted you on Facebook.

  1. Go to the Profile

Check out your friend's profile. If asking your friend directly about the problem is not an option, going to their Facebook profile is the next best thing.

The "Restricted" list differs from the "Blocked" list in that restricted users can continue to view public posts and postings on mutual friends' pages from the person who blocked them.

  1. Find an Empty Spot

Look for an empty spot at the top of their profile. This usually indicates a gap between private and public posts. 

If you have been limited, you will be unable to view the private posts, hence the space here.

Depending on when your friend posted their public postings, you may not notice a gap here even if you are restricted.

  1. Look For the Posts

Check to see if all of their posts are public. These will most likely show below any space. If there is a "Public" globe to the right of each post's date and time, that means you are not seeing their private posts.

  1. Missed Out Content

Look for an unusual lack of content. If you are unable to view images or other content that you were previously allowed to, you may have been restricted.

  1. Ask Another Friend

Ask a mutual friend to check your friend's Timeline. Even if you can't see private posts or old images, your friend may have just removed their old information and closed down their account to protect their privacy from all of their Facebook friends (not just you). 

You can confirm this by having a common friend look at your friend's Timeline and let you know if they notice something that you don't.

  1. Communicate 

Check with your friends to see if they have any restrictions on you. Because the "Restricted" list is so close to the custom list area, there is always the potential that the action was done incorrectly.

Being aware of whether someone has restricted you on Facebook can be useful, but it's critical to adopt a more proactive approach to internet security. Apps like PurePrivacy can be quite useful in this fight. 

PurePrivacy enables you to take control of your social media presence while minimizing security threats such as identity theft and unwanted tracking by providing a privacy audit and data cleanup services.

Get Added PurePrivacy to Boost Social Security

PurePrivacy is a comprehensive solution that allows you to take control of your online security and privacy. It examines your social network settings, suggests changes to improve your privacy, and even assists you in removing your personal information from the internet.

With PurePrivacy, you can effortlessly protect yourself against identity theft, hacks, and unwanted tracking.

Simple Integration

You can simply link your Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and other social media accounts to PurePrivacy's app. This enables centralized control and optimization of your social media presence directly from the app.

Seamless Management

Manage your social media presence seamlessly to simplify your experience. PurePrivacy's app allows you to manage all of your social media accounts from one spot.

Effective Privacy Score for Overall Security

PurePrivacy's Privacy Score provides a comprehensive picture of your social media privacy. This score evaluates the security of your social media settings based on the permissions granted to different accounts.

Screenshot of PurePrivacy's homepage

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • How can I know if someone has restricted me on Facebook?

    Plus

    If you only view public posts, this is one of the first signals that you have been restricted. Next, go to the About section of their profile. If you can only access Public information on their About page, this is another indication that they have restricted you.

  • What happens if someone restricts my Facebook account?

    Plus

    If someone restricts your Facebook account, you'll experience the following:
    You won't be able to see their private posts on their timeline.
    You might not be able to comment on their posts or see their friend list, depending on their settings.

  • How long do Facebook restrictions last?

    Plus

    The duration of a Facebook ad account restriction varies according to the severity of the offence. In rare circumstances, the limitation may be lifted after several hours, days, or weeks. In other circumstances, the restriction could be permanent.

  • What happens when someone restricts my access to their profile?

    Plus

    When someone restricts you, you won't be able to see their private posts on their timeline. Plus, depending on their settings, you might also be unable to comment on their posts, see their friend list, or tag them in posts.

  • Simplify your online presence today

    With PurePrivacy, make sure all your personal data remains safe without a hassle!

Play Safe While Using Social Media!

Facebook does not notify you immediately if you are restricted. 

You can gather clues by reviewing their profile for signals, such as just seeing public postings and limited profile information, as well as having a common friend compare their profile views. 

Remember that these approaches aren't failsafe, so it's always better to focus on maintaining strong relationships and open communication rather than worrying about restrictions.