How to Make Featured Photos on Facebook Private

  • By Muhid Suleman

    Muhid Suleman

    Author Image

    Muhid Suleman, An expert writer from Pureprivacy's content team, Dedicate to make data privacy simple and accessible for you. Muhid, Our Content Wizard, weaves tales about online privacy using simple and user friendly procedures. He firmly believes that online privacy is your right and a big deal in the digital jungle.

    See author profile
  • 5 June 2024
  • 7 mins read

Have you ever uploaded a photo on Facebook at 2 a.m. and regretted it? 

Perhaps it's a ridiculous vacation photo or a questionable dress selection. 

If your profile suddenly suffers from these awful featured photographs, there's no need to panic. 

While Facebook doesn't clearly provide a "private" option for featured photos, there's an alternative approach to restoring your privacy control.

Facebook offers a Featured section on your profile. You can post images to highlight to help others get to know you better and group many photos to create collections. By default, the Featured images are public.

Click the Featured collection to display these images in a slideshow. A Featured photo is more powerful and expressive than ordinary images you upload on Facebook since it allows you to communicate yourself to other users.

If you open a featured image options menu to edit the privacy settings, you’ll find nothing to proceed with. However, a workaround allows you to make featured photos private on Facebook. You have to follow these steps:

Step 1: Open your Facebook profile on your mobile phone app.

Step 2: Go to your menu page by clicking the hamburger icon present in the upper right corner of your screen.

Go to your menu page by clicking the hamburger icon

Step 3: You’re now on your homepage. Scroll down to the bottom and select Settings and Privacy.

Scroll down to the bottom and select Settings and Privacy

Step 4: Then select the Settings options.

select the Settings options

Step 5: After getting into the settings, scroll down and select Stories under the Audience and Visibility tab.

scroll down and select Stories under the Audience and Visibility

Step 6: Now select Story Privacy.

Now select Story Privacy

Step 7: You can see story privacy settings now, and you can customize them according to your needs. 

You can see story privacy settings

Step 8: You can make your stories and featured photos private by changing your story privacy settings to a limited audience. After making the changes, click Save.

After making the changes, click Save

While there is no direct option to privatize featured photos in their editing menu, there are workarounds that provide a similar level of privacy. 

However, this raises a potential security risk with the featured photographs, which are inherently public. 

If you share your profile with a few people, featured photos can still be downloaded or collected by third-party software unless you take further precautions. 

Here's where privacy-focused solutions like PurePrivacy come in. 

PurePrivacy Maintains Your Online Identity

PurePrivacy serves as your privacy manager, providing a comprehensive digital security and online privacy solution. 

It helps to secure your private information on social media, restricts trackers, and allows you to browse without worrying about targeted advertisements.

Facebook privacy at your fingertips

This is how PurePrivacy serves you:

Automatically Delete Search History

It allows you to easily wipe your search history across social networking networks. By securely deleting your search history from multiple social media networks, you can maintain confidentiality and improve your overall privacy.

Scan/Rescan Social Media Settings

Get beneficial tips for all of your privacy settings. Its powerful scanning technology thoroughly examines your social media accounts and makes personalized recommendations to improve your privacy and security.

Remove Your Personal Data

Once you share identifying information (name, email, and country) and provide consent, it sends periodic data removal requests to supported data brokers. You can monitor the status of their requests using the in-app dashboard and receive weekly reports.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • Does Facebook post featured photos?

    Plus

    No, when you add a Featured photo, Facebook does not post it to your news feed. Your Facebook contacts must visit your Facebook profile to view your Featured images.

  • Plus

    Yes, your friends can access your highlighted photographs by visiting your profile and simply clicking on the 'Featured Photos' selection.

  • Plus

    When you choose a new feature photo, it will not appear on your newsfeed. A new instance of the photograph is created. Finally, the photo has been added to your highlighted collection. It can be accessed by anyone who sees your profile unless you lock it.

  • Plus

    Yes, you can see who has seen your highlighted photographs. However, this is only possible if the viewers are your Facebook friends. Those who are not are listed as other viewers, and you cannot see who they are.

  • Simplify your online presence today

    With PurePrivacy, make sure all your personal data remains safe without a hassle!

While there is no direct way to keep individual featured photos private on Facebook, you can control who can see them by changing your story privacy settings. 

Because featured images work similarly to stories, this workaround lets you limit the audience for both features. 

This allows you to have more control over who can see the photos you've chosen to feature on your page.