How to Unsee Someone’s Instagram Story Without Blocking

  • By Muhid Suleman

    Muhid Suleman

    Author Image

    Muhid Suleman, An expert writer from Pureprivacy's content team, Dedicate to make data privacy simple and accessible for you. Muhid, Our Content Wizard, weaves tales about online privacy using simple and user friendly procedures. He firmly believes that online privacy is your right and a big deal in the digital jungle.

    See author profile
  • 21 May 2024
  • 7 mins read

You are unconsciously hovering through Instagram stories when all of a sudden—BAM! 

Hold your nerves!

You've seen someone's story that you shouldn't have to be. 

However, there are certain ways to remove yourself from their view list without taking clashing measures, so think again before you freak out without using the block button.

2 Smart Tactics to Unsee Someone's Instagram Story Without Blocking

Though you cannot unsee the story if you’ve once watched it, here are a few things you can do to make sure the person who uploaded the Instagram story doesn't see you.

By Disabling Internet Connection:

Disabling your device's internet connection will allow you to observe other Instagram users' stories if you're desperate to stalk them at all costs.

Step 1: To view the Instagram story of the concerned person, open their profile on Instagram.

Step 2: Next, pull down the quick access menu on your mobile phone and disable the data or WiFi option by tapping the respective option.

Step 3: At this point, tap on their uploaded story or avatar.

Step 4: Please take note that if there's a video in the story, it might not play if the internet is unavailable.

By Deactivating Your Instagram Account:

Deactivating your Instagram account is another secure method of removing someone's Instagram story once you've seen it.

reddit thread

After viewing the story, use a desktop or mobile browser to access your Instagram account. This is necessary because the only ways to deactivate an Instagram account are through the PC version or the mobile browser version.

Step 1: Press the profile icon of your Instagram account on the lower right corner of your screen.

Press the profile icon of your Instagram account on the lower right corner of your screen

Step 2: Press the Settings menu button by clicking on the Hamburger icon.

Press the Settings menu button by clicking on the Hamburger icon

Step 3: Scroll down to "Temporarily disable my account" from there and press on it.

Step 4: On the next page, you must enter the account password and provide a reason for your account disability.

Step 5: Next, click Temporarily Disable Account to confirm.

The strategies we'll discuss can help you handle such scenarios without jeopardizing your online security. Note that there are often hidden risks associated with some third-party programs or browser extensions that promise to make you invisible for stories. 

These programs may include activity-tracking trackers or even contain security flaws that allow your data to be exposed. Always go with trusted options like PurePrivacy, which emphasizes enhancing your online identity using secure ways.

Empower Your Digital Presence with PurePrivacy

PurePrivacy is an application that can help you manage your online privacy. It checks your social media settings, suggests privacy-enhancing adjustments, and assists you in removing personal data from data brokers. Additionally, it blocks trackers and prevents data breaches.

PurePrivacy helps you manage your online security in the following ways:

Effortless Accounts Integration

Remove the inconvenience of toggling multiple apps. Just use PurPrivacy to connect to the social media accounts you choose, following its streamlined approach. After that, it'll guide you through a brief authorization process so that it can give you insightful privacy recommendations.

Data Broker Details

For ease of use, it groups data brokers into distinct categories: marketing, people search, recruiting, and risk mitigation. Examine the data these brokers have about you to learn more about how your information is being used.

Smart Tracker Management

This app allows you to whitelist trusted trackers and then block or unblock them whenever it's convenient for you.

Screenshot of PurePrivacy's homepage

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • Can someone know that I watched their Instagram story if we are not friends?

    Plus

    Even if you are not friends on Instagram, you may still see that you have watched someone else's story. It goes both ways: even if someone doesn't follow you or isn't friends with you, you can still see that they viewed your story.

  • If I'm not blocked on Instagram, why can't I access someone's story?

    Plus

    It is up to the uploader to control who can view the story. The story might only be accessible to the person who shared it with you via direct message (DM) or to those on their list of Close Friends. In this case, you might encounter the message "This Story is Unavailable" when attempting to view the shared story.

  • How do you view an Instagram story without knowing anyone?

    Plus

    Make sure your device is in Airplane Mode before watching their story. This will prevent Instagram from determining that you have seen the story.

  • Simplify your online presence today

    With PurePrivacy, make sure all your personal data remains safe without a hassle!

Be Wary of Stalking!

Although you can't go back in time and remove your view from someone's Instagram story, you may still take control of the case. The story itself will disappear in a day, or you can use the above strategies. 

Muting stories from this account is a smart move if you wish to stay away from them in the future. In the end, using a little caution when watching stories or stalking will help you avoid undesirable stuff.